Indian Premier League

The Indian Premier League (IPL), literally the first Indian League, founded in 2008. It is dependent on the governing body of cricket in India, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), of which it is a subcommittee. The matches of the competitions that are organized annually are in TWENTY20 format. Eight franchises competed for the title at the first edition of the IPL in 2008. Two new additions were added to the fourth tournament in 2011.

From 2008 to 2010, eight franchises compete. They compete at first with a single hen. Each team fights two games against each of the other seven. At the end of this phase, the semi-finals face the best-ranked franchise and the fourth on the one hand, and the second and third on the other. The final between the two winners is the fifty-ninth and last game of the season, which lasts between six and seven weeks. In 2010, a “small final” pitted the teams eliminated at the semi-final stage for the first time. From 2011, ten franchises competed for the title.


These matches are played in the Twenty20 format. The term “IPL T20” refers to all meetings in which each team has a maximum number of throws to mark, for example, twenty sets of six throws. The majority of these games are finished in about three hours. It has increased the efficiency of playing cricket of the players. Because of IPL T20 cricketers are playing more faster than they used to play.

Indian Premier League (IPL 2018)

Indian Premier League 2018 also know as IPL 2018 will be the eleventh season of IPL (IPL 11). Twenty20 cricket league Officially established by BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India). The format of the tournament is Double round robin and playoffs knockout. 60 matches will be played during this season. The season will be held from 4th April  2018 to 31st MAY 2018. We will see the return of the RR (Rajasthan Royals) and the CSK (Chennai Super King). These teams were suspended for the involvement of their respective owners in the 2013 IPL spot-fixing and betting case. Star Sports have the media rights at $2.55 billion (₹16,347.5 crore) for five years starting from IPL 2018.

The Indian Premier League 2018 auction will be held on 27 and 28 January 2018 in Bangaluru. The IPL governing council has announced that each IPL franchise can retain maximum five players from their current team. A particular franchise can retain three players maximum through retention in the lead up to the auction and three players maximum through right-to-match card during the sale. Other restrictions on player ‘keeping’ are three capped Indian players maximum can be retained and only two overseas players maximum, and two uncapped Indian players maximum can be retained. A franchise will be permitted to spend just ₹33 crore on retentions ahead of the IPL 2018 auction and near to ₹47 crore to spend at the auction (Total ₹80 crore).

The salary  for each team for the IPL 2018 season has been extended from ₹66 crore to ₹80 crore ( $12.4 million)

Indian Premier League (IPL 2018) Team List

  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Delhi DareDevils
  • Kings XI Punjab
  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Rising Pune Supergiants **
  • Gujarat Lions **


Get all the Indian Premier League News with CRICKTUBE.